sponsible for the House of Commons Reading Room. Persons entitled to borrow books from the Library of Parliament are the Governor General, Members of the Privy Council, Members of the Senate and the House of Commons, Officers of the two Houses, Justices of the Supreme Court of Canada and the Exchequer Court, and members of the Press Gallery. In addition, books are lent to other libraries and government agencies and reference service is given to scholars. A special research branch serves Parliamentarians only. The Parliamentary Librarian has the rank of a Deputy Head of a department and is responsible for the control and management of the Library under the Speaker of the Senate and the Speaker of the House of Commons assisted by a Joint Committee appointed by the two Houses.

Department of Manpower and Immigration.—This Department was constituted in June 1966 by the Government Organization Act (SC 1966, c. 25), which was proclaimed effective on Oct. 1, 1966, under the Minister of Manpower and Immigration. The Department is composed of two operational services and four support services. The Canadian immigration service administers the Immigration Act and Regulations and is responsible for the selection, examination and movement of immigrants and for the exclusion or deportation of undesirables. The Department's employment service is responsible for: the manpower mobility program; assisting in the recruitment and placement of workers to meet industry's requirements; community adjustment of immigrants and migrants; occupational and job classifications and descriptions; selection techniques; testing methods; vocational and technical training, rehabilitation of the vocationally handicapped; and municipal winter works incentive programs and winter employment campaigns. The Department also has a service which is responsible for the development and evaluation of departmental programs; research; the operation of pilot projects in training and other areas; legislation and legal services; and emergency manpower planning at the national level. Other support services are Financial and Management; Personnel; and Information.

The Canadian immigration service, until Oct. 1, 1966, was part of the Department of Citizenship and Immigration which has been renamed the Department of Manpower and Immigration; the majority of the other components of the Department were, prior to Oct. 1, 1966, under the jurisdiction of the Department of Labour.

The Immigration Appeal Board, which deals with appeals made against Orders of Deportation, reports to the Minister of Manpower and Immigration. The National Advisory Committee on the Rehabilitation of Disabled Persons, the National Technical and Vocational Training Advisory Council and the National Employment Committee act in an advisory capacity to the Minister.

Department of National Defence.—The Department of National Defence and the Canadian Forces operate under the National Defence Act (RSC 1952, c. 184). The Canadian Forces are administered by the Minister of National Defence and the Associate Minister of National Defence. Since August 1964, when a single Chief of the Defence Staff was appointed, the reorganization of the Canadian Forces Headquarters, the command structure and the consolidation of the Canadian Forces Bases has been proceeding. In June 1965, a plan was announced to reduce the previous major commands in Canada to six: Maritime, Mobile, Air Transport, Air Defence, Training and Materiel. This accomplished, the stage has been reached for final steps toward a single unified force.

The Defence Research Board, created in 1947 to carry out research relating to national defence and to advise the Minister on all relevant matters of a scientific or technical nature, functions under the National Defence Act. The Crown corporation, Defence Construction (1951) Limited, reports to Parliament through the Associate Minister of National Defence.

National Energy Board.—This Board was established under the National Energy Board Act, 1959 for the broad purpose of assuring the best use of energy resources in Canada. The Board, composed of five members, is responsible for the regulation of the construction and operation of the oil and gas pipelines that are under the jurisdiction of the Parliament of Canada, the tolls charged for transmission by oil and gas pipelines, the export and import of gas and the export of electric power, and the construction of the lines over which such power is transmitted. The Board is also required to study and keep under review all matters relating to energy under the jurisdiction of the Parliament of Canada and to recommend such measures as it considers necessary and advisable on the subject. The Board reports to Parliament through the Minister of Energy, Mines and Resources.

National Film Board.—The National Film Board, established in 1939, operates under the National Film Act (RSC 1952, c. 185) which provides for a Board of Governors of nine members—a Government Film Commissioner, appointed by the Governor in Council, who is chairman of the Board, three members from the public service of Canada and five members from outside the public service. The Board reports to Parliament through the Secretary of State. The Board is responsible for advising the Governor in Council on film activities and is authorized to produce and distribute films in the national interest and, in particular, films "designed to interpret Canada to Canadians and to other nations"

Department of National Health and Welfare.—This Department was established in October 1944 under authority of the Department of National Health and Welfare Act (RSC 1952, c. 74).